Please find our new step-by-step cluster update procedure below.  Ignore all migrate instructions if you are updating the single node NX2 NAS system.  Please follow it carefully and reach out to support if any questions


Before starting take an audit of your environment:

 

  1. Check the SU's and make sure new SU's are available if needed 
  2. Check if the snapshot job is also executing a backup job to a 2nd pool or 2nd unit. 


Best practices procedure for cluster software update:

 

1.  Save settings on both cluster nodes

     [ System Settings->Settings management->Save current settings ]

 

2.  Download settings on both cluster nodes

      [ System Settings -> Settings management -> Save current settings -> options -> download ]

         once downloaded rename the settings so the hostname is present in the fine name.

 

3.  Delete all auto-saved and manually saved settings on both cluster nodes

      [ System Settings -> Settings management -> Save current settings -> options -> delete ]

 

4.  Download LOGs on both cluster nodes

     [ Diagnostics -> Logs-> Download all ]

 

5.  Delete LOGs on both cluster nodes

     [ Diagnostics -> Logs-> Delete archived logs ]

 

6.  Check installed small updates and consult with technical support if they are still required in the new software version.

      [ System Settings -> Update -> small updates are listed in the small updates section ]

         Note: most of the small updates are incompatible with the new software version,

                if the small updates are still required please contact technical support

                in order to get new small updates re-compiled for the new software version or to see if new major version now includes the SU.

 

7.  Upload new software ISO on both cluster nodes ( this is just upload, no reboot)

      [ System Settings -> Update -> Upload update -> Browse -> select the new software version file -> open -> Upload -> Change and reboot later ]

        Note: The new software version must be listed with the suffix:  (default to boot)

 

8.  Disable “Pause” all replication tasks on both nodes

     [ Backup & Recovery -> Options -> Disable task ]

 

9.  Move all pools to the first node and reboot the second ( passive) node

      [ Go to the passive node and click on the "Move to this node" button ]

      [ Click on the "arrow down" button (next to the "Logout" button) and select Reboot ]

 

10.  Once the second node is up and running reboot the first ( active ) node.

      [ Click on the "arrow down" button (next to the "Logout" button) and select Reboot ]

      Note: Optionally pools can be moved to the second node before the reboot of the first node.

 

11. Once both nodes are up and running enable (un-pause) all replication tasks

       [ Backup & Recovery -> Options -> Enable task ]

 

12. If after the update system is prompting about pool file system upgrade or system volume upgrade, it is NOT necessary to execute it at once.

       It is required to prove that all services are running as expected first. If all works properly, the upgrade can be confirmed.  Even run it for a few days and then go back to the step of upgrading the pool after it has been tested 100% in the environment.   Please read GUI messages while applying upgrades.

       Note: it is not possible to downgrade the software to the previous version after confirming the pool upgrade or system volume upgrade. This is why it is required to prove all functionality first.

       [ Storage-> Options (of the selected pool) -> Upgrade file system ]

       [ Storage-> Options (of the selected pool) -> Upgrade system volume ]

         Note: the upgrade system volume appears only if updated from software version up28 or older